What are Chakras?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates as "wheel" or "turning" Chakra is a concept referring to wheel-like vortices which, according to traditional Indian medicine, are believed to exist in the surface of the etheric double (term for the invisible double of the human body of man). The Chakras are said to be "force centers" or whorls of energy permeating, from a point on the physical body.  They are considered the focal points for the reception and transmission of energies. Seven major chakras or energy centers (also understood as wheels of light) are generally believed to exist, located within the subtle body.


Our Chakras need to be rebalanced and realigned at times
See Page for Energy Rebalancing Session

The first chakra is at the bottom and is known as the root chakra and located at the base of the spine and is defined as the chakra that governs understanding of the physical dimension.   It externalizes as the adrenal gland, governs the kidneys and the spinal column and is red.   

The second chakra is orange and is located in the sexual organs and is the chakra of creativity governing attitudes in relationships, sex. 

The third chakra is located in the solar plexus externalizing as pancreas, governs the action of liver, spleen, stomach and gall bladder.   It is the clearing house for emotional sensitivities and issues of personal power. 

The fourth chakra is the heart chakra externalizing as the heart, thymus gland.   This chakra governs the heart, blood and circulatory system and influences the immune and endocrine system and the color is green. 

The fifth chakra is the throat chakra externalizing as the thyroid gland, and governs lungs vocal cord, bronchial apparatus and metabolism.   The center of expression, communication and judgment and is blue.   

The sixth chakra is located in the center of the forehead and better known as the third eye and externalizes as the pituitary gland governing the lower brain and nervous system, ears, nose and left eye.   Through this center we consider our spiritual nature.   It is seen as the color Indigo ( a combination of red and blue).   

The seventh chakra or crown chakra is located at the top of the head   It externalizes as the pineal gland and governs the upper brain and right eye.   Through this chakra one may ultimately reach the feeling of integration with God.   Its color is seen as violet or sometimes the combination of all colors WHITE LIGHT.

Content copyright
2009-2017 Kathleen L. Dixon All rights reserved.
  Site Map